Daily Archives: December 30, 2010

The optimist

The summer solstice has passed.   That is always a turning point for me.  Since last Tuesday and Wednesday (both equally lit days) we have added nine, yes NINE, (9!) minutes of day light.   I’m not really a weather geek, but my weekly calendar, which I cannot live without, has  the sunrise and sunset times listed for each day.  I hardly ever calculate the minutes as the days get shorter, but I almost always do for the first few weeks after the solstice.   Even if those minutes are barely noticeable, I like to know they are there! 

A few days back I took this shot of the deck.  I was inside and saw these perfect little tracks just outside our door.

wee tracks

We had two lovely days of sunshine this week and the birds were singing like crazy.  The sun shining on their little bird brains must have signalled to them that another spring will come — some day!   I got my 2011 calendar and filled in all the monthly meetings and events for next year.  We received a seed catalog in the mail already.   So, there is the proof!   A new year is just days away and spring can’t be too far after that, right?