Daily Archives: December 12, 2010

What to do in a big storm?

While the sun is shining today, yesterday was 24 hours of snow and wind.  So I made some additions to my online shopping page.  I added a new category called the Bargain Bin and stocked it with some marked down items.   Take a look and maybe you can find a gift at a bargain price. 

I also finished this hat.  I LOVE it!  I made one last summer and it sold at Farm Tour and I don’t think I ever got to show it to you.   This is my handspun yarn.

Front view

It is also SO simple.   Just a straight tube of stockinette stitch, with a row of eyelets near one edge.  Then make a long i-cord and string through the eyelet holes.

Back view

Cinch up the i-cord and tie a bow.  The top looks a little like a flower and the bow makes the back look so cute. 

Made into a gaiter

And if you loosen up or remove the i-cord and slide it over your head and….   it’s a gaiter!   You could even use bright colored ribbons instead of the i-cord to close up the top.  It’s up for grabs – $35.