Daily Archives: December 16, 2010

Shop Make-over

It wasn’t an extreme make-over – no walls crashing, wrecking balls or explosions – but I made a few changes in my little gift shop and thought I would show them to you.   This room was originally the dining room of our home.  It is conveniently by the front door and so became my gift shop a few years ago.

West wall

This wall is opposite the window, so the picture got weird colored.  Not much new here.   Sweaters and shawls on the hanging rack.

North wall

I love these baker’s racks for displaying products.  I have teddy bears, mittens and gloves on the first.  Then I have a little square of grid wall for my socks.  Hats, scarves, baby socks, baby blankets and rugs fill up another baker’s rack.

East wall

I have my yarn rack on this wall along with some roving and finger puppets.  You can see part of my big wooden alpaca on the outside of the window! 

South wall

And here is the reason for the make-over.   That tall shelving unit is new.  I have felting kits, scarves, color books and stadium seats on the shelves.  I also have felted soap, dish clothes, handbags, and wrist warmers on the table.  And roving and rugs under the table. 

It is a lot packed in a small room, but the extra shelves keep it neat and easy to see everything.  Before the new shelves I had a rack that was made to be a mini greenhouse.

Fiber

Here it is in it’s new home!  I am using it to store my second quality fiber.  This is the less-soft or short fibers that I use for felting or have made into rugs.  And now it looks much better than it did in a big pile! 

There was no shouting ‘Move that bus’, no jumping around and screaming or crying, but I am still happy to have my mini-makeover complete!